Jura : Deep forests, stunning waterfalls and French countryside!

 

I just spent a week vacation in the province of Jura (France). As soon as our vacation were approved, we packed our bags, jumped in the car and drove all the way down from Sweden to France! I always wanted to explore Jura and let me tell you…it was FANTASTIC! Come have a look 🙂

Far away from typical touristic places, it is truly an hidden gem. It took us two days to reach Jura but as soon as we stepped out of the car, we put on our hiking boots and hit the trails! We spent the whole week hiking through mountains, deep forests and French countryside landscapes. It was amazing! It was not the “made-for-tourists countryside landscapes” but the real ones. As real as : more cows than people and foreign tourists seen as a strange specie. They probably thought we got lost and that’s why we ended up there.

Anyway. Living abroad, I sometimes miss France and going to Jura was just perfect to relax and to finally speak (a lot) French! 🙂

If you are fond of great outdoor landscapes and are willing to feed exclusively on French food then Jura is for you!

If you are planning to visit Jura, there are a few places that you should absolutely not miss! I will make a series of posts about them (otherwise this post will be as long as a book!). Until then, just have a look at some of the pictures! Beware : Stunning, amazing, blinding pictures coming!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, what do you think? Jura for next vacation? 🙂

NB : If you like my blog, please click HERE to get free updates from my blog directly to your mailbox ❤

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

19 responses to “Jura : Deep forests, stunning waterfalls and French countryside!

    • Thank you! It is really a beautiful place which hasn’t been developed for mass tourism (yet…?). This reminds me that I should probably have pointed out to learn some basic french words before going there… But. Oh well. Doesn’t everyone speak fluently french after a glass of wine 😉 Cheers!

    • Haha thank you Joel! Don’t worry it reminds me too that I don’t live in France anymore… Welcome in France anytime! 🙂

  1. What a beautiful place…Truly a hidden gem!!! I am always on the lookout for lovely treks and this is surely one of them and I simply love your dog, the gorgeous German Shepherd… 🙂

      • Yes there are really the best friends you can have… I just read your post. So cute!!! Have you already taken them on one of your travels? 🙂

      • Recently when I was in my home state Assam (famous for the one-horned rhino) in India I took them along on a trip to a wild life reserve….This reserve is well-known for its rhino population and you can literally watch them from 10 feet away…Its like they are domestic animals, mingling freely with the cattle from the villages nearby…Cody (the dalmatian) and Casper (the spaniel) saw a rhino for the first time and their reaction was very funny…

  2. It looks lovely! To me Jura is a Scottish island where they make good whisky. I had no idea there was a Jura in France as well. Where is it located?

  3. France is some place I would love to visit. I would learn French after just one bottle of wine,too! Photos & your dog are beautiful. I’m glad you enjoyed my post.

    • Welcome to France anytime! French wine will for sure help getting your French skills up. Let me know if you are planning a visit.
      Ps : my dog thanks you for the compliment. She is flattered 😉

  4. Pingback: Arbois : Wine capital of Jura – France | Off to wanderland·

  5. Pingback: French Nigara falls – part 2 : Cascades des Tufs aux Planches | Off to wanderland·

  6. Pingback: Introducing Baumes-Les-Messieurs | Off to wanderland·

Leave a Reply

